We look forward to greeting you at the XIX International Botanical Congress in 2017.


Nomenclature Section

The International Code of Nomenclature for algae, fungi, and plants (Melbourne Code) may be modified only by action of a plenary session of an International Botanical Congress on a resolution moved by the Nomenclature Section of that Congress (see Division III of the Code: http://www.iapt-taxon.org/nomen/main.php?page=div3).

Proposals to amend the Code have been published in Taxon, the journal of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT), starting with issue 63(1) in February 2014 (see http://www.ingentaconnect.com/content/iapt/tax or http://www.iapt-taxon.org/pages/synopsis_of_proposals). Taxon closed for proposals to amend the Code on 30 June 2016. Proposals may no longer be submitted for publication in Taxon.

A Synopsis of Proposals to amend the Code has been published in the February 2017 issue of Taxon (see https://doi.org/10.12705/661.36 or download it here). The Synopsis has been compiled by the Rapporteur-général and the Vice-rapporteur, who have provided comments on the proposals. The Synopsis also includes opinions of the Permanent Nomenclature Committees on certain proposals.

The preliminary guiding mail vote has been organized by the Bureau of Nomenclature in conjunction with the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT). The results of the mail vote are now published at https://doi.org/10.12705/664.25 or are available here.

At the Nomenclature Section itself, there are two kinds of votes:

1) Personal votes. Each registered member of the Nomenclature Section has one personal vote. No accumulation or transfer of personal votes is permissible.

2) Institutional votes. An institution may authorize in writing any registered member of the Nomenclature Section as a delegate to carry its 1–7 allocated votes. It is not mandatory that the delegate be a staff member of the authorizing institution.

Official delegates must present their credentials and collect their voting cards at the welcome reception or upon arrival at the Nomenclature Section.

The current list of institutional votes is available at https://doi.org/10.12705/656.33 or is available here .

In April 2017, the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT) notified all listed institutions of their allocation of institutional votes (by e-mail or regular mail). The notification letter includes the official form by which an institution may authorize its delegate (or a vice-delegate from another institution) to carry its institutional votes at the Nomenclature Section. If your institution has received no such notification, a staff member of your institution may officially request the notification letter from IAPT at this address: office@iapt-taxon.org

Please note that a request from an institution must be made by a staff member of that institution. Requests made by individuals on behalf of institutions of which they are not staff members cannot be considered.

No single person at the Nomenclature Section will be allowed more than 15 votes, including personal vote and institutional votes.

Only registered members of the Nomenclature Section are entitled to vote at the Nomenclature Section.

To register for the Nomenclature Section you must register for IBC2017 paying for at least one day registration. Please register here.

Dates: July 17-21, 2017

Time: 8:00-18:00

Venue: Lecture Hall 502, 5th Floor, Peking University HSBC Business School (PHBS), University Town, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518055, Guangdong, China

The session will be held in the week preceding the main congress of IBC2017. A welcome reception (17:00-20:00) will be held on 16 July 2017.

Recommended Hotels

Shenzhen Vienna Hotel (University Town). 1st Pingshan Rd., Pingshan Cun, Xili Town, Shenzhen. Tel: +86-755-26723888. About a 10 minute walk to the venue.

Small hotels may be considered.  Additional choices will be supplied later.

Transportation: A metro line connects Shenzhen International Airport to University Town (Line 5). First take Line 11, then transfer to Line 5 at Bao'An Center Station.  Get off at University Town Station.

From Shenzhen North Railway Station, take Line 5 to University Town Station.

From Shenzhen Railway Station (Luohu), take Line 1, then transfer to Line 4 at Civic Center Station and to Line 5 at Shenzhen North Railway Station. Get off at University Town Station.

From Shekou Pier, take Line 2, then transfer to Line 4 at City Hall Station and then Line 5 at Shenzhen North Railway Station. Get off at University Town Station.

Shenzhen Metro: http://www.szmc.net/page/en/index.html